Not Hate, National Angst

Posted: August 7, 2012 in Commentary, Current Affairs, News, Politics, Rants
Tags: , , , ,

A lot of my friends meet up with me and ask me, “Like it that you hate Singapore man, I’m with you.”

Honestly speaking, I don’t. I’m just extremely upset to see the way things are now.

I recently heard the music video of “We are Singapore” and “Count on me Singapore”, national day songs we used to sing in the 80’s and I was sincerely brought to tears when I heard it on the Telly. It didn’t help either that they were showing scenes of the way things were back then.

I’ve memorized the words since I was in Kindergarten and I sang those words as a child with gusto. “Onward”, “Progress”, counting on our generation to produce a better society for ourselves, our loved ones, our parents and our children to reside in someday.

Now when I sing the same lyrics 20 years later I regret I ever sang for more “progress” in Singapore because I’ve realized as a man and in adulthood that there is no finish line to “Singapore’s progress”, what I’ve done is glorify a horrible thing and dug a fucking hole for myself and our future generations.

I was born in Singapore, I still have hopes for my country like the rest of everybody else. I just choose to break to balls of those that try to fuck me over and have some fun at the same time.

Hate is too strong a word for my behaviour, It’s simply societal and governmental frustration. Nothing more. Happy national day!

Leave a Reply

